Skip to main content

Table 1 Study areas with their general properties

From: Stand structure and species diversity regulate biomass carbon stock under major Central Himalayan forest types of India

Site code Location (District) Avg. elevation (m) Forest type group* Forest type (Class)a Legal status
F1 (RNP) Motichur Range (Dehradun) 330 Tropical Moist Deciduous Forests Moist Siwalik
Sal Forest (3C/C2a)
Rajaji National Park (Core Zone)
F2 (ASA) Asarori Range (Dehradun) 710 Bhabar-Dun
Sal Forest (3C/C2b(i))
Reserve Forest
F3 (GON) Gondar (Rudraprayag) 1663 Sub-tropical Pine Forests Upper or Himalayan
Chir Pine Forest (9/CIb)
Kedarnath Wildlife Sanctuary (Core Zone)
F4 (CHK) Chakrata (Dehradun) 2140 Himalayan Moist Temperate Forests Ban Oak Forest (12/CIa) Reserve Forest
F5 (TYN) Triyuginarayan (Rudraprayag) 2158 Moist temperate
deciduous forest (12/CIe)
Kedarnath Wildlife Sanctuary (Core Zone)
F6 (KAN) Kanasar (Dehradun) 2285 Moist Deodar
Forest (12/CIc)
Reserve Forest
F7 (CHP) Chopta (Rudraprayag) 2980 Kharsu Oak
Forest (12/C2a)
Kedarnath Wildlife Sanctuary (Core Zone)
F8 (TUN) Tungnath (Rudraprayag) 3300 Sub-alpine Forests West Himalayan
Fir Forest (14/CIb)
Kedarnath Wildlife Sanctuary (Core Zone)
  1. al: Shorea robusta Gaertn.; Chir Pine: Pinus roxburghii Sarg.; Ban Oak: Quercus oblongata D. Don (Syn. Q. leucotrichophora A. Camus); Deodar: Cedrus deodara (Roxb. Ex Lamb.) G. Don; Kharsu: Quercus semecarpifolia Sm.; Fir: Abies species
  2. aForest type groups and classes are based upon Champion and Seth (1968) forest type classification
  3. S